Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Tips for finding M33

I’m by no means an expert but only one object has defeated me so far, M33.

I spent around an hour last night looking for it using both TLAO and S&T PSA, but failed.

Going by the maps, I know I’m right on top of it, but just can’t see it. My light pollution level is OK, but not fantastic, so I’m guessing it’s probably that (I can see nu Andromeda which I believe mag 4.5).

I’m looking for a smaller version of M31 in that I’m expecting to see a bright blob, is that right or have I zoomed straight past it without even realising?

Any tips on finding this elusive (to me) object would be appreciated.

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have the exact same problem, it eludes me.

I've got a fairly reliable goto as well so I know I'm in the correct area, but it must be light pollution just washing it out.

I'm interested to see what tips people on here may give too

It's not a bright blob at all. M33 looks like a very transparent hazy patch of light set between four stars that form a sort of rhomboid. It's an extended object, though not as large as M31 and it's average surface brightness is pretty low. Any sort of light pollution makes it very challenging although I have glimpsed it with 7x35 binoculars on very dark nights.

So a hazy, diffuse patch of light that is almost not there at all !

I use Stellarium and a Telrad, with the Telrad circles set in Stellarium, setting the Telrad so its outer ring at the 7 O'clock mark is on Mothallah, M33 is on the opposite side at the 1 O'clock position, then its just a case of slewing over to the midway point...I did see M33 in moon polluted sky's last week....