Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi from Exmouth

symbiosis

Hello all

I'm a complete amateur just starting out but with an interest in the stars that goes back many years.

I've just purchased a pair of Celestron Skymaster 15x70 Bins to get me started but my real interest is combining my other hobby (photography) with astronomy, so I can see a telescope purchase coming up in the not too distant future

The skies arnt that great where I live (Exmouth, Devon) so I would be very interested to hear from any other members in the East Devon region to get tips on good viewing locations

Thanks - I look forward to meeting some of you here in the future

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Symbiosis and welcome! I am in Exeter and I'm a member of the Norman Lockyer Observatory in Sidmouth. We are holding a Stargazing Live event on Monday 16th Jan in conjuction with the BBC. Why not come up and have a look. We have a full size planetarium as well as 4 large telescopes in domes. We also have many members who can give first hand advice. On the night we will have a special desk where you can get advice on buying scopes as well as an opportunity to meet members and see the equipment they use. See these links:

Norman Lockyer Observatory

Norman Lockyer Observatory

Hi and welcome to the forum. The binos are a great deal by the the way and will show you plenty. They're probably about the largest binos that you can realistically handles through an evenings viewing, though a tripod probably would help in the longer term. I'm sure you will be using them alot!

Clear skies

James

Welcome to the forum!