Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

M13

Peter

Hi,

Well here goes, Deep breath, Don't be nervous. This is my first time at showing you lot one of my pictures, so be gentle with me.

The picture is of the globular cluster M13 thats in the constellation of Hercules. It was taken on Saturday 12th May 2007 using my mate's 12" f6 reflector. The camera used was my Canon EOS 20D with the speed set to 400ASA, and the exposure was 1 minute.

I have not done any processing to the image, mainly because I'm not sure how to do it. I must set some time aside and have a go at it.If anybody can help by telling me in simple terms how to process, then please tell me.

I hope you like it.

M13Sat12thMay2007.jpg

This is a very good image, focus is pin sharp and the exposure is just right.

All that is needed now is more of them to stack and maybe a flat frame to help with the gradient.

I don't have a DSLR so am not sure what is the best (free) program to stack with but I have heard "deep sky stacker" mentioned before.

Are you shooting Raw's rather than jpeg's (The blue channel was cliped a bir at the black point)?

I had a quick play : levels and curves in photoshop cs and tried to kill the gradient a bit in PixInsight LE ( a great free program) using the "dynamic background extraction" tool

http://pleiades-astrophoto.com/index.html

Hope this helps and keep them comming.

post-13376-133877328073_thumb.jpg

Hi, and thanks for the kind words.

The picture taken using the JPEG format, when I use the RAW format I find that I can my processing program will not open it. As for my processing program the only one that I've got is Adobe Photoshop Elements, and to be honest I struggle to improve my images.

Can you tell me how you "tweaked" the image and what program you used to do it.

Cheers Peter