Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi from Cheshire

Maymo

Hi,

We (my family and I) live in Frodsham, Cheshire and have a new interest in astronomy. My son Sam has a 76mm F=700 Optus telescope and we realize it's limitations. It has however allowed us to see some detail on the moon and last night we saw saturn and its rings for the first time, although very small and no detail, we all got a great buzz from this. I seem to spend a long time finding the object I'm looking for in the spotting scope and even longer to get it in the main scope. I would like to learn more about astronomy and be able to see real images of planets, stars etc..

I need help in selecting a new scope, suggestions are welcome, as you can see I'm a real newbie. I like the sound of the goto computers on some scopes, I'm sure that this will save me loads of time. Other considerations are size and weight, I would like to take my new scope on caravan holidays so it has to be reasonably manageable and as it will be travelling in the caravan not too heavy. Bigger clearer images are a must and sometime in the future I would like to explore astrophotography to compliment my photography hobby, I use a Nikon DSLR. I know this is a bit vague but a starting point for further research would be helpful.

Regards Alan (Maymo)

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Orion the Hunter,

I have an old pair of 7X50 binoculars. These are good for the moon and I can see loads more stars than with the naked eye. Am I trying to run before I can walk?

Alan

Hi Maymo, you're in the right place for help and advice, this is a really friendly forum. I found this book really useful when I was just looking into things:

Stargazing Basics: Getting Started in Recreational Astronomy: Amazon.co.uk: Paul E. Kinzer: Books