Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello there, a new complete beginner, couple of questions

burf2000

Hi there.

I always fancied getting a GoTo telescope due to me being a techie. and loving the concept of it.

For xmas I am hopefully getting a SKYWATCHER 1145P SYNSCAN from my dad (he already has it). Its also comes with a x2 Barlow lens (guessing this is to increase its zoom) and a moon filter?

I had a little look around the forum and seen that people are using these scopes, also suggesting a x3 Barlow lens and some other bits but to be honest this goes over my head.

I hoping with this that I see the odd interesting thing but I know you have to spend serious money to see brill stuff.

Is there any particular upgrade I should go for?

What kind of things could I see with this? Mars?

Can this be controlled via a PC? :D

What would people suggest reading for a basic beginners guide to stargazing.

Thanks Simon

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome

you will see Mars, Jupiter, Satun complete with rings, Venus and Mercury as disks with some detail on jupiter and its 4 moons , Uranus as a dot and some deep sky objects such as the Andrmeda galaxy the Double Cluster and The Orion nebular.

Others with far more knowledge will be along with better advice

As for a beginers guide, I have a couple of books but found the most useful guide is the reports of others on this forum and stellarium, by reading the reports of others viewing I could understand what was visable and then with Stallerium hunt for them in the sky, tonight for instance I found the double cluster for the first time with a scope and split the trapizium in orion agaiin for the first time.

The sky at Night Mag is also a good pointer to what is available in the sky