Greetings!

Wood.Justin

Hello all,

It's by complete chance that I found this forum... I'm a complete novice to the whole star gazing scene. I have an interest in aviation and space but nothing like this before... I always wanted a telescope when I was a kid but never did get one. I'm a keen photographer and have hands on experience with nice expensive Canon DSLR equipment and nice white L-Glass lenses! Unfortunately I no longer shoot like this but I am still keen...

Let me tell you a little story...

I was driving home from work last night and I noticed a bright "star" at the 7 o'clock to the Moon and thought to myself "what could that be?!" After many Google searches I stumbled upon my answer. It was Jupiter! Amazing I thought...

I'd been using an ancient pair of 10 X 50 Bins for spotting planes flying overhead and decided to whip these out and have a closer look at the Moon/Jupiter. WOW!! The detail of the moon was amazing and we even made out a couple of the moons of Jupiter... My other half was very impressed with this too!

After much hmm'ing and ahh'ing I've ordered a pair of Celestron 15 X 70 SkyMasters from FLO. They are due to arrive tomorrow! So with that in mind I am looking at getting myself kitted out for ultimate moon/star/planet viewing.

Anyway, whilst I wait in anticipation for my new Bins to arrive I will scour the forum and familiarise myself with the place.

I look forward to sharing and meeting some like minded folk, for now over and out!

Regards,

Justin :)

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Justin and welcome to SGL :)

Yup it was the moon and binocs that got me 'n' the missus hooked - you should see 4 moons round Jupiter in the new binocs (so long as they ain't hiding behind the planet). Download Stellarium - you'll love it - especially cos its free. Let us know how you get on with the 15x70's and enjoy the forum :)

Hi Justin,