Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi from Monterrey

aldogarzat

Morning

I'm a newbie on this, so maybe I could make you laugh with some silly questions, but it doesn't matter for me, as long as I get the right answer from you. :)

I got just yesterday a Meade 114/900 EQ1-B, and I got to see the moon as I never have seen it, I was amazed!.

Really I don't know how I could point to the moon and a achieve to see it, but I did it!

The EQ1-B is used, but it seems to be in good shape (not broken, beaten, crashed or things like that) just some dust here and there.

So.. I have some questions for you guys! Here I go:

1.- How do I clean my EQ1-B.

2.- the EQ1-B didn't come with any collimator tool, so what is the best collimator for this kind of scopes ( and newbies as I am)

3.- Where can I get a manual for a Meade 114/900 EQ1-B.

4.- What kind of filters I have to get to see the moon and sun (brand, features, etc.)

Thanks in advance for your help.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

hi welcome to the forum :)

for collimation you want a cheshire or laser collimator tool,if you search this forum there is lots of advice i liked this short movie

Collimating a Newtonian

try this for a manual

http://www.meade.com/manuals/TelescopeManuals/Reflectors/062002Jupiter114EQ-D.pdf

as for filters the moon does not really need one,but any lunar filter will help meade do one that you can get 2nd hand for £10

the sun i would tread very carefully!!! only get well known brands maybe like the bader solar film,it depends what you want to see,it can get expensive i am sure some of the forum members will be able to advise you better

good luck pete

Hi Aldogarzat, welcome to SGL.

Regarding cleaning, if it's the mirror that's a bit dusty, don't worry!

Do not go near the mirror until you have read some of the threads regarding how to do it correctly, you could do a lot of damage if it's not done right.