Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Have i purchased wrong telescope ?

Hi i have just had my dobsonian 8" skywatcher delivered today and am thinking i have purchased the wrong telescope :)

I am being told that unless i have a motorised platform for it i will only see planets for 2 seconds at the most.

I was told i should have bought a telescope with a tracking system.

Can someone please tell me if this is true as i am a beginner.

Regards

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If you are at high magnifications then the planets will move fast (2 seconds imo will be a very high magnification), but all you have to do is nudge the scope to keep it centered.It takes a little practise thats all.

Keeping a planet in the FOV of a motorised telescope at high magnifactions will aslo be a PITA unless you have accurately levelled and aligned the scope/mount in the first place.

I know people dont like them but I found a zoom EP to be ideal when you first start out as if you loose the target you can zoom out re center and zoom back in again... Once you get the hang of it then start using fixed EP's...

That is rubbish, who on earth told you that. The 8" Dobsonian telescope is one of the most popular scopes there is.

The mount is a simple one that's for sure. But it is both simple and effective, it is why you get a good set of optics, and the scope is relatively cheap. Of course any astronomical object will move as you watch it. The scope does not have a drive. The higher the magnification you use, the faster the image will move through the field of view. Don't worry about it, you will be able to nudge the scope around and keep the planet in view.

Don't listen to people who don't know what they are talking about.

Just you enjoy your new instrument, it will give you some great views of lots of objects, not just planets.

Ron.

Hi Daraz,