Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Looking for the best telescope for a beginner

Gem85

Hello there, 

I am new to stargazing, I moved to High Wycombe a couple of years ago and the sky  on a clear night is amazing up here! 
My partner & I  are looking to buy our first telescope to explore the skies but don’t have a clue what we’re looking at in terms of aperture, sizing, lenses etc…. We don’t want to spend a huge amount on our 1st whilst we get used to it but don’t want one that is not very good with images. I hope to get some ideas on what are the best ones about  to buy. 
many thanks in advance.

Gem. 

• Like 1

Basically you're going to get a variety of answers to this question. No one answer will be necessarily correct or incorrect. A lot of it will be what you eventually discover what is right for you. Personally, I'd recommend a short tube doublet refractor between around 70mm -100mm in aperture on an alt-azimuth mount to start with. 

For a variety of reasons:

1/ It will be relatively portable (so should get out regularly).

2/ It will be instinctive to use (point and look).

3/ It should have no collimation issues (Newtonian reflectors need constant collimation).

4/ It will have no real cool down time. A 150mm Newtonian may need up to an hour to reach thermal equilibrium when taken outside. 

5/ It will have an inherent versatility in the fact that it can be used for lunar, planetary, deep sky and rich field observing. 

G0KQtrWm.jpg

Sky-Watcher ST80 on AZ5 mount/tripod

RR8srXzm.jpg

Altair EDF 60mm ED doublet on AZ5.

4qhMmddm.jpg

Sky-Watcher ST102 on AZ5.

CzaHxNmm.jpg

102mm Altair Starwave ED-R on Vixen Porta II mount and Vixen TL-130 tripod.

• Like 8

Welcome. I hope you have fun with the forum and the hobby. 🙂