Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Total amateur saying hello

MR T

Hello all, 

I'm totally new at this but I picked up a celestron C8-N FL-1000 F/5 model #31061, and a smaller scope attached also a celestron 9x50 #51611, I think you call this a finder scope, could be totally wrong about, I picked this up a while back and had it mounted on a wooden stand that didnt work very well, so I didn't use it very much.

But last week I decided to buy a skywatcher eq5 with a SkyWatcher ENHANCED DUAL-AXIS MOTOR DRIVE FOR EQ5 MOUNT with Multi-Speed Handset and ST4 Autoguider Interface.

I've also got a DSLR Rebel t2i, and to be honest I have no idea what I'm doing. But thought I'd say hello and maybe I will pick up a few tips from here.

If anybody has any advice for me that would be well appreciated.

Oh and I'm from the UK in london so cant see any stars in the sky but I'm hoping that will change soon.

Hope you all enjoying the super hot weather and clear skies here in the uk.

MR T

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Hello Mr T and welcome to SGL.
You should be able to get some really good views from that kit.

Walk before running. By that I means go for easy viewing, like the moon and bright planets when available, to get a feel for the scope.
An EQ mount can take a bit to get your head around - set it up in daylight first.
As for photography. Worry about that later.

Enjoy the journey and keep asking questions.
You have thousands of SGL members able and willing to help.

David.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

16 minutes ago, MR T said:

I've also got a DSLR Rebel t2i, and to be honest I have no idea what I'm doing.

Welcome and join the club, now 2 of us have no idea what the latest flavour of the decade is, 'IMAGING' with optico-electronic devices that provide full scale colour pictures of thingies in the heavens that visually through a 'scope resemble misty, indefinable patches of dust! Sorry folks I got ouda da wrong side of bed and am in a 'sarcy' mood 🙂