Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

NEW Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer GTi

I could be very interested in this if the price is right. It's something I've been wishing SW would make for a while now, combining the strengths of the SA and the AZ-GTi.

But I *do* wish SW would ditch that god-awful torture saddle. I just hope there is / will be a suitable ADM replacement.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, DaveS said:

But I *do* wish SW would ditch that god-awful torture saddle. I just hope there is / will be a suitable ADM replacement.

I suspect that it is straightforward reuse from the AZ-GTI and you will be able to use the existing AZ-GTI replacement ADM saddles on this mount.

It looks like a nice little mount, but I do like the flexibility of being able to switch from EQ to AZ-ALT with the GTI so I won't be replacing mine.

• Like 2

I'm far from an expert on mounts, but the star adventurer GTi can be run in low altitude Mode (0°) which looks like it will give it the same range of motion as alt-az.

No idea how that would impact on the goto though.

No official word on prices.  Some of the EU scope shops are advertising with prices, but how they will translate to the UK/us is up for debate.

StarAdventurerGTi.jpg

1 hour ago, tompato said:

Does anyone have a rough idea at what sort of cost we might be looking at for it?

Artesky have it listed as 572 euros (and available September) which seems a bit high to me - midway between an EQ3 and EQ5 (although both of those come with a handset). My assumption is that this is the AZ-GTI mechanism and firmware in an compact EQ mount my guess would have been around £450. An AZ-GTI and wedge is around £400

• Like 1

34 minutes ago, Shimrod said: