Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Is Pixinsight worth a new computer?

Clarkey

I need some guidance from the numerous Pixinsight users on the forum. Currently I image process using various bits of software including APP, Startools, Affinity plus a few minor add-ins. Although I am still learning the whole processing workflows, I feel that the images I am producing are not as good as I would like given the amount of integration time. I am seriously considering Pixinsight as this seems to be the best option for processing. I also object to spending £30 a month on PS on principle. However......

Having checked the specifications for the system requirements for PI it would require me to buy a new PC for the processing. Although I have a reasonable PC, it does not meet the recommended requirements for PI. So not only would I have to buy the software but I would need a new computer too. My question is this. Is the improvement with PI, is it worth the cost of a new PC? I do sort of need a new PC anyway, but this would require quite a good specification and higher cost.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

Thanks,

Ian

You can get a 45 day free trial of PI, so it may be worth trying it with your current PC to see how it performs and to see how you get on with PI.

This is what I did and I liked the results I was getting with PI. Previously I was using PhotoShop and couldn't do what I wanted with that but I now have a basic routine for each image and I'm still picking up things each time I use it.

It does take some time to get to know the software but a search of YouTube will produce some good tutorials which are a great help and you can stop & start them as you progress through with your own image. ;)

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1