NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Complete beginner!

Marc

Hi there, my names Marc, i'm 19 and i live in Suffolk, England, and i really want to get into astronomy. I've always been fascinated by space and have spent countless nights staring into the skies but i've never had much of a clue where to start when it comes to buying telescopes and the like.

If anyone can refer me to books or other materials that'll get me on the right track i'd be very appreciative as when i browse this forum i don't understand half of the things i'm reading!

Really glad to find a community of people online that can help me along on my path through the stars!

Thanks!

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Marc!

You might want to post your questions about equipment in the 'Beginners help & advice' forum. The rule, generally is to get the most aperture you can afford, and a couple of decent eyepieces and a stable mount. A reflector (Newtonian or Dobsonian) is a good all-round scope, and gives you the most aperture for your £. I do not suggest anything less than 5" (127mm) as a starter reflector scope.

Before you buy, come here and check with the wiser heads.

Best wishes, you've chosen a wonderful hobby. :(

Before you buy any hardware I would buy Skywatch: Apractical guide to viewing the universe - can buy at amazon where 14 out of 14 people give it 5 stars - Its £ 20 - I paid £ 10 for mine from my local bookshop and they're now selling for £ 5 - even at £ 20 it will be the best £ 20 you ever spent

Teaches you

1) the major constellations

2) How to navigate your way around

3) What the different types of telescopes are

4) Why and when to use binoculars

5) Star maps for the northern and southern hemispheres

6) All about the planets and moon

7) Intro to astrophotography

And lots of other stuff