Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi guys, hoping you can help with the tracking problems I'm coming across with my astrophotography setup. I've been using it since August 2020 and have kind of put up with the problem until last night where I think it's getting worse...

Specs below (let me know if you need anything else):

• William Optics Zenithstar 61 II (360mm F6.1) - Zenithstar 61Adjustable Field Flattener
  • iOptron SkyGuider Pro Camera Mount Full Package
  • K&F Concept Aluminium Tripod with 2kg weight
  • Canon EOS 250d (cropped sensor 1.6x)

The problem:

I take roughly 40 pics with each being 1 minute long at 1600 ISO and stack them on DeepSkyStacker. From a few people I know on the internet, it seems as though, with a very similar setup and same focal length, they can get around 3 mins of exposure with no problem. And that's without a guide camera.

With my 1 minute exposure, roughly 10 of 40 images are reasonable but the rest have star trailing or double stars (see attached downscaled, unedited pics of Orion nebula)

What I think it could be:

My first idea was the tripod, it's not the best but it's not cheap plastic, and it should be fine for a 1 min exposure. Then I thought it could be the iOptron tracker that could be faulty?

Every screw has been tightened, there's no play in any of the adapters/mounts.

I thought I'd post this here to see if anyone else has the same problem or has more experience/knowledge that could help. Also to see if there's an obvious problem before I spend hundreds on a new tripod or send the tracker back for a replacement.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Dean

DSC01191.jpg

DSC01192.jpg

DSC01193.jpg

DSC01194.jpg

DSC01195.jpg

DSC01196.jpg

IMG_7504[1].jpg

IMG_7513[1].jpg

IMG_7512[1].jpg

Cannot see any mention of polar alignment and unsure of polar alignment options of the tracker in use. The scale will be approximate but no more.