Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Baby steps... baby steps...

I'm totally new to astronomy and somehow am amazingly interested in it. I never learned constellations as a kid, and since i'm about to buy my first telescope (SW Hermitage 130/650) in a month or so I figured I should learn the skies with my own eyes first. I was so enormously surpised that I could actually see a constellation with just my eyes and i'm mad no one told me ever šŸ˜› (With 10x50 binoculars was way too zoomed-in)

A totally new world opened up for me. IĀ tried navigating and finding more using some cool apps that really helped me a lot!

Here's a picture of Ursa Minor (Galaxy S10), my first one ever. I'm so hyped to get my scope.

Also thanks to everyone for helping me this week in finding out which telescope to get and explaining some terms. I couldn't be any more happy :)

Screenshot_20200523-232834_Gallery.jpg

• Like 7

Nice picture, although it isĀ Ursa Major not Minor. Absolutely, your eyes are the best thing to use to learn the constellations, even binoculars are to much power for that. TheĀ Milky Way too is best see with the naked eye from a dark site. SimpleĀ pleasures but amazing all the same.

GladĀ you are enjoying the hobby and getting sorted with a scope.

• Thanks 1

4 minutes ago, Stu said:

Nice picture, although it isĀ Ursa Major not Minor. Absolutely, your eyes are the best thing to use to learn the constellations, even binoculars are to much power for that. TheĀ Milky Way too is best see with the naked eye from a dark site. SimpleĀ pleasures but amazing all the same.

GladĀ you are enjoying the hobby and getting sorted with a scope.

AhhhhĀ a minute after I posted I saw there also existed Ursa Major and was so confused which one I photographed. Thanks for bringing clarity :D

• Like 1

Welcome to the Universe!