Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Noob question - Off Axis Guiding

Hey :)

Complete beginner here!, never used any type of guiding... Not looking to open a can of worms but I’ve a feeling it will!

Off Axis vs Normal guiding...pros and cons

My setup will be a Canon 6d dslr(full frame) with a 70-80mm APO, field flattener and EQ6-pro Mount.

i was intending to buy a generic ‘guiding package’ using an ASI camera and mini scope.

i then read about off axis guiding...
Is this something I should consider vs a normal setup or is there more to it?...just like there seems to be with everything in Astrophotography!ha! 

Off topic...

im considering the ASIair Pro and tablet vs using a laptop and something like APT/backyard eos ...if I go with the ASIair I want to future proof/ make sure what I buy works in terms of guiding with it ...if that makes any difference to the off axis guiding question 

Any help would be greatly appreciated as always :)

Cheers

Ant 

A "quick" comment, as I don't know too much about it..

But the pro for off axis guiding, as far as I understand, is that since you are guiding from the same light-source (the main mirrors or lense in the telescope), you can get more accurate guiding, as there will be less errors introduced by slack and loose connections. If the connection between the focuser and the telescope slacks a bit, it will move both the camera and the off-axis-guider, basically cancelling that out. Where as if you have a separate guide-scope + camera mounted on the telescope, any slack,"bending" or tugging due to cables, can introduce errors, where the camera will then guide the mount, even though it is not necessary. Giving you eggy stars in your images.
Making sure that all connections are very tight, and that cables aren't dangling, is then a lot more important with a separate guide-scope.