Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Weird feeling leaving your gear out

I have been doing Astro for three years and started dabbling with AP wide field about a year ago. An upgrade to a 150pds means I am now imaging 60 sec subs of DSOs.

Mainly due to work commitments I have a two hour window (never clear on a new moon on a Friday or Saturday night) I have to keep my imaging sessions short. As the nights get shorter the rig goes out later and for the first time it is banging away at the Leo Triplet all on its own as I type this.

Feels really weird just leaving a grands and half’s worth of kit in the garden! I am supposed to sleep on the sofa now for an hour but I am in a cold sweat about the rig. I know people leave there gear out all night for long sessions but it sure feels odd.

The other thing is I can’t image past two hours or I have no battery for darks and bias frames. Anyone else worry about there set up?

Marvin

• Like 1

Yes it does feel weird, i dont like leaving mine even for 5 minutes. I image from the driveway but we used to have a good tall gate that you could not see through so it was a lot more secure. So at the minute i sit in the garage with the door up with my rig a few feet a way.

Yes I don't think I'd leave mine unattended long. my garden is pretty secure but still doesn't feel quite right leaving it out. I tend to pop in and out of house and sit in dining room with French doors, so can see it all when I'm having a cuppa or checking this forum or stellarium for inspiration on what to look for next.

only the hedgehogs to worry about from a wildlife point of view so not too bad on that front.

29 minutes ago, Marvin Jenkins said:

I have been doing Astro for three years and started dabbling with AP wide field about a year ago. An upgrade to a 150pds means I am now imaging 60 sec subs of DSOs.