NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First Attempt - Need help!

FlyDoc

My first foray into astrophotography after reading the "No EQ" challenge! Total noob here so apology if I do sound like one!

Equipment - Celestron Astromaster 130, Star Discovery mount, Canon EOS 6D, Celestron 2x Barlow

All photos are single shot long exposure. 

Just need couple of advices: 

1) Stars at the periphery shaped like halos. What's name of this optical defect and is this something I can do to fix?

2) I don't seem to be able to get the outline shape of Horsehead Nebulae + nebulosity of Pleiades / Rosette for some reasons.  despite 30s exposure on ISO 25600(!). Do I need a filter or I need to stack multiple exposures. 

3) Is my tube needing collumination?

Thanks guys!

FlyDoc

IMG_2806.jpg

The obligatory Orion Neb

IMG_2914.jpg

Carina

Horsehead.jpg

Alnitak and Flame Neb (very subtle) but can't see Horsehead(??)

Pleiades.jpg

Pleiades

Rosette.jpg

Rosette

Sirius.jpg

Who else but the brightest star in the sky!

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Considering your setup a good first attempt.

The optical effect is Coma, I think the scope was slightly out of focus as well.
It can be cured with a coma corrector but I don't know if you can get one for your scope.
Some one else may know.

When stretched there is bad vignetting, the scope finds it hard to illuminate a full frame sensor.
Taking flats may cure some of this.

I'd say the halos are as suggested above, coma..as the stars in center are in focus but the fainter  ones on the edge have halos..

Sorry to say but to pull out nebulosity from Pleiades and feint ha signal from the rosette you will need longer exposures..

But great images for 30 sec subs

Thanks guys!

I did find focusing rather difficult as adjustments are very small. Do you guys use say the brightest star for the initial focusing adjustment?