Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help wanted: Sky-Watcher Startravel-102T Ota for Astrophotography

AstroKane

Hi All :icon_biggrin:

Beginning of this year I upgraded my whole rig to an Advanced VX Mount with the Edge HD 8" OTA (which is great) along with eyepieces (I got pretty much the whole CELESTRON X-CEL LX, they are fab and I really recommend them!)

Anywho...Now, of course, winter skies are coming into play so I really want to image DSO's. For this work I use an iOptron Sky Tracker (again, great piece of kit) with my canon rebel t5i (750d).

I want a cheap scope to improve my DSO images (I am a novice) so I am looking at the Sky-Watcher Startravel-102T. I have picked this scope primarily for the price tag but it will serve as my first DSO scope and I just want to learn the processes and make all the mistakes beginners make without laying out a fair sum on a decent bit of kit.

I am interested in getting some good Andromeda, Orion, Horse-head and Pleiades images.

My question is - Does anyone have any experience with this scope, ideally using a canon and is there anything else I should be thinking about?

I would be keen to hear from you guys!

Cheers

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have some experience with it. It was my training scope year ago. Dont buy it..I mean just go straight to 130pds. Price is about the same and 130PDS with coma corrector is VERY good imaging scope. Achromatic refractors does not do well with the stars. Stars are bloated and there is blue halo on every big star. Its quite light weight and good as a travel scope, but there is really a reason why they use doublets, triplets or newtonians in AP.

M13.thumb.jpg.ca204a25604ea320231e4bf61f99468a.jpg

M101.thumb.jpg.7c887659b2a6db30e634a135d4e98be7.jpg