SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello and please help!

Sempei

Hopefully  I'm  here to  introduce  myself  and ask for help.  I'm  a double  newbie.  This is my first forum and I'm  still  learning  to  negotiate  it.  On the same hand I am a novice at dedicated stargazing too.  Please feel free to advise me about either.

I have surreptitiously  stargazed for most of my adult life but. Just recently  found  that  my  wife  had the same secret interest.  We have unleashed ourselves and are trying to forge ahead as intelligently as possible.

This has of course  led to some very elementary questions. I know the first may be obtuse but, was our choice of our  first telescope generally acceptable?  It is anothing orion starblast 4.5.  It seemed to be the best in our price range but that could  have  been  lack of experience.  

Secondly, what, besides the obvious, is the capability of a solar filter?  I want to get one for the upcoming eclipse but am unsure of what use it will be beyond that.

Hello and welcome to SGL. :).

I`m not sure if the Starblast 4.5 is very common here in Europe, but I know its mentioned in positive ways at the US forum Cloudy Nights

I recommend you read this blog : http://uncle-rods.blogspot.no/2009/02/joys-of-simple-things.html

I think a Scope like this is the kind you want to keep for grab&go, even if you invest in a bigger scope later on.

Rune

Welcome. I have to mention how amazing it is that you and your wife both discovered this secret passion about each other. It's quite inspiring and also touching. Especially since you refer to the aftermath as unleashing yourselves. So great. Have fun and enjoy this new phase of your relationship :) 

The solar filter is useful for seeing the sun with its sunspots anytime except during eclipse totality. So, you use it for the partial phases, but during totality it will block out everything.