Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What do you do while you wait?

A simple question! What do you do while you wait?

I'm new to this 'proper imaging' business so I can't help keeping a close eye on the incoming images, stacked with DSS_live and I can't help but look at how PHD2 is doing.  It's all set up outside but remote viewing with VNC let's me supervise from indoors.  Therefore, in my excitment to see what's coming in, I'm barely watching TV, just looking at a PHD2 realtime trace...

It seems to be going well.  What do you do?  Put the kettle on?  How about at those remote dark sites?

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If the night is nice, 2 words "Look Up" and if I remembered to bring the binos then that's a plus. Never ceases to amaze. 

Now nice means different things in different places. For me it's being dressed appropriately and having a nice lawn chair to sit on (and a cold beer or hot toddy depending on the season).

:icon_biggrin:

Tonight, I was out with the camera on a tripod trying to do arty landscape things with the moon. Whilst the camera was taking a series of photos with the intervalometer, I was taking advantage of the dry ground to lie on my back and just stare up at the stars.

When I am imaging from the garden; if it is a work day the following day, I go to bed and cross my fingers. If it is not, then I am often out with the binos and a thermos of tea, but quite often I just sit on the bench with my head resting on the wall and look up at the stars.

An excellent answer!   I am getting so tied up in the ins and outs of taking pics that I forget the pleasure of simply *looking*.  I will put a Binocular request on my birthday list

in the meantime, while my camera is busy gathering photons, I sometimes catch up o washing up, ironing school uniform and general box-set fun.

i would spend more time outside, if I had the time :-)