Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Mesu 200 mount

astrocatinfo

Good morning,

I am doing a bit of research on this mount in order to make a decission on my "mount upgrading". I have been using a tunned Neq6 pro II for a couple of years and now I want to upgrade to a premium mount for better accuracy, tracking, PE, payload, etc.

What are your thoughs on it? Some questions:

Is it esy to be fully computer controlled?

Has it got a multiple star alignment procedure? I don't see Polaris.

What about the GOTO precission? Anybody knows the arcmin precission?

I am also looking for picture with the exact dimensions in order to know how I will deal with it in my observatory.

Thanks in advance for your help,

Aleix

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks Sara!! Your work is the best demostration that the Mesu can perform perfectly ;-) I will also use my FSQ85 on it. In my case I plan, in the future, to attach it to a 10" RC or DC... we'll see.

Do you know the lenght of the counterweight bar? I have to figure out if it propperly fits my observatory. It has a base of 140x140cm and 190cm tall. The mount just in the center.

Thanks so much!

Since Lucas Mesu fitted the SiTech system to replace the Argonavis/Stellarcat system which I have on my older version the mount can be used in fully remote mode. I host one in our robotic shed, in fact.

Since I operate mine myself from a warm room I'm happy with the older system but the SiTech should do what you want it to do.

I regard our Mesu as not only the best mount I've ever used but as the best single piece of kit I use in astrophotography. It has worked flawlessly with a 14 inch scope at 0.66"PP and continues to work flawlessly with our dual Tak 106 rig.