Ruined an eyepiece.

tehmac

So furious with myself. My new (second hand setup) of 200PDS with HEQ5 Mount was getting a thorough clean by me tonight. I was cleaning the eyepieces, and I got to the last one, a big Skywatcher SWA 38mm 70 degree FOV, and started to clean. I unscrewed one thing too many and before I knew it, multiple glass layers went moving (I didn't realise this would happen, or that it had 5 bloomin' layers to it!) and upon trying to reseat them and screw things back in, I cracked one of the thick layers of glass in the middle. Needless to say, many expletives were used. I then, being a complete novice to all this, looked up the value of it and discovered it was £100. Unbelievable. 

Just needed somewhere to vent.

ouch indeed. Have you tried emailing skywatcher? They may have a repair service. I do hear on here, some good things about after sales service of telescope equipment - mainly TeleVue, I must admit, but you never know.

1 hour ago, tehmac said:

I unscrewed one thing too many and.............

Whatever/whenever the need to unscrew? always film the sequence in order to refit the correct way!  Might even be of help to others too, should their EP's fall apart?
I would take a look too, if I felt the need, part of just being inquisitive, and a better understanding of the parts, but always be cautious, as  most EPs are assembled, I assume,  under strict controls  with gloved fingers?

And £100 to repair a single glass, or whole  EP replacement?.......I'd settle for this one at the lower price..........http://www.365astronomy.com/SkyWatcher-PanaView-SWA-70-deg-38mm-2-inch-Eyepiece.html