Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I've had enough of newtonian stars

OK so the title says it all. If money were no object and I had a big enough obsy my ideal scope would be an 8" f/7 apo refractor. The more I use refractors the more I enjoy those little balls of light with those beautifully concentric circles. Nights of good seeing and transparency rewards me even more leaving only those pin points of light. (and purple halo but I can live with that)

While I have scopes from 120mm to 254mm I think 200mm seems to offer up enough to keep you interested while not being too much of a handful. An 8" apo is never going to happen with out winning the Euro millions so what alternatives at an affordable out lay are available ??  

I have no experience with coma correctors but I wonder if this will help any with the star quality itself as I think the problem lies with actual diffraction caused by the secondary and not eyepiece aberrations or coma. This seems the cheapest option open to me and it could be used in both my 8" & 10" newts. I also wonder if as a cheap fix swapping my secondary supports for curved or circular would benefit me any or is it a mix of several things, thermals in the tube etc that makes Newtonian stars little balls of fire ??

I am a little apprehensive regards SCT and MAKs as they have such long focal lengths and are prone to dew which agreeably can be sorted using heaters but brings with it a need for power. I did once own a TAL 200k which gave good stars and a quick cool down time with no concerns of dew due to the open tube design but again a focal length of 2000mm meant wide field views were out of the question. How do SCT stars compare to refractor stars and is the some what larger central obstruction going to reduce contrast dramatically? I know MAK's offer up some super sharp stars but the cool down time of the skymax 180 along with its f/15 focal length means this is not an option for me.