NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

planetaries from last night

nytecam

Been a lean August/September due to poor weather but OK last night.

Here's old summer favourites in M57 [60s] and M27 [80s] in 20s subs - more fainter stuff soon. Use Meade 30cm f3.27 SCT+ SX Lodestar-Cx2 with darks/flats. Gx IC1296 just recorded NW of M57 in 'hexagram" asterism ;-)

Nytecam

post-21003-0-03726800-1442606492.jpg

post-21003-0-12543300-1442606777.jpg

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

A couple of very nicely imaged objects very well captured. I am no processing expert, but some of the stars do look a little bit off with a blue colour fringe around them.

Some of that might be down to using the SCT at f/3.3.  I'd guess that the field is only well-corrected over quite a small area.

There's an interesting feature in the second one.  About a third of the way from the Ring to the top right corner is a very faint grey fuzzy.  It's barely above the background noise.  I reckon it's probably galaxy IC1296.

James

Some of that might be down to using the SCT at f/3.3.  I'd guess that the field is only well-corrected over quite a small area.

There's an interesting feature in the second one.  About a third of the way from the Ring to the top right corner is a very faint grey fuzzy.  It's barely above the background noise.  I reckon it's probably galaxy IC1296.

James

Sorry James but that photo has been processed like an unknown branded burger. As soon as I hear the mention of darks, flats and sub's then you need to look where you are posting.

This is for live or near live not photos.

Sorry James but that photo has been processed like an unknown branded burger. As soon as I hear the mention of darks, flats and sub's then you need to look where you are posting.

This is for live or near live not photos.

And if this is a saved image from a video astronomy app that does real-time stacking, dark subtraction and real-time colour processing?

James