SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Astrotrac or Star Adventurer

roarke80

I am thinking of buying the astrotrac travel system but am intrigued by the Star Adventurer which seems to do the job at less than half the price. Can anyone give me your thoughts on which would be the better option?

I need something portable and light as I hope to travel with it, and I'm a newbie so would like something easy to setup and use. I'm starting on a DSLR but my end goal is to take images of nebulae and galaxies, eventually moving onto a CCD camera. I won't have the budget for longer camera lenses at the moment. I do however have a Celestron ED80 which I hope to use once I'm more familiar with the equipment.

For people who own the Star Adventurer, does the whole setup become bulky once you add a suitably sturdy tripod? Would an astrotrac travel system still be better if it was just a couple hundred quid more?

thanks very much!

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I know nothing about the Astrotrac, but do own a SA, it is easy to set-up couple of minutes to do the PA and you're looking at 5 minute subs with a wide field lens, it's better to use a sturdy tripod but the same tripod would i assume be needed for the Astrotrac. i run the SA, 600D Canon, dew heater all from a multi cigarette adapter  this being plugged into a Tracer battery..

Both mounts are good but the astrotrac has a much greater load capacity (similar to the HEQ5) but at that point would be less portable so if you are sticking with camera lenses the SA would be fine. 

Alan

I have owned the SA for a while now and this is spot on. I have done some solar visual with the SA and it works fine, but think AP with that setup would be pushing it...

StarAdventurerSolar

I have owned the SA for a while now and this is spot on. I have done some solar visual with the SA and it works fine, but think AP with that setup would be pushing it...