Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Observing targets for SGL 9?

DRT

I see that there is a thread discussing targets for the Big-Endians so I thought we should have one for us Little-Endian types who prefer looking rather than photographing.

I'm still new to all of this and live under a fairly bright sky so this will be my first opportunity to observe from a relatively dark site. My targets are:

Solar System: Jupiter, Mars, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune (not sure if the last two are visible) and the Sun

Galaxies: Andromeda, Leo Triplet, Cigar and Whirlpool

Nebula: Orion & ????

Other interesting things: Suggestions welcome :wink:

Right, well, Andromeda is going to be at 20 degrees near dusk, and descending, so I doubt that'll be much good. You do, however, have the entire of the Virgo cluster of Galaxies to trawl through - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virgo_Cluster - I intend spending quite some time trawling through here, especially Markarian's Chain. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Markarian's_Chain 

Uranus and Neptune won't be well placed. Venus might be possible, in the morning. And Minor Planet Ceres and asteroid Vesta should be visible, and fairly close to each other (though they get closer later in the year)

If you want Nebulae, in the early morning - about 0430 - the Eagle and Swan nebulae should be up, though low. Higher, so probably easier - the Ring Nebula, and Veil Nebula. North America nebula too, if you've got a wide enough field of view, and it's dark enough.

Globular clusters - Loads. M3, M53, M13, M92, and in the early morning, and  bit low , M10, M12, M14, M107, M9. And there's a bunch lower than that, but that'd need a big empty horizon. I'd love to get M4 in the 10", though.

(I've been doing some planning...)