Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

EQ5 Backlash on dual axis motors

Hi, I'm quite new to using my EQ5 and dual axis motors.

I've been putting up with what I now seem to have found out by reading online some "backlash"

The RA axis takes a lot of playing to get it tracking. I have to slew using the dual axis hand control until the motors actually start to bite and work. It's all very hit and miss.

The dec axis hardly moves at all.

I've read confusing posts on this for and other forums about taking the mount apart and re-greasing and adjusting wormgears here and there.

Can someone with some full knowledge of this problem possibly point me in the right direction to a step by step guide with photos so I can fix the severe backlash I have?

The mount is new and the motors only used 3-4 times. So I'm sure it just needs all fine tuning properly.

Thanks. Andy.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Regarding the Dec axis what do you actually mean. Is it that it is very stiff and the clutch kicks in? If you mean it doesn't move much after you are aligned then this is correct. Your mount should only track in RA.

The Dec I'm least concerned about since I'm taking subs and the RA is more important. But it does seem slower and works less often when trying to slew.

The RA motor loses tracking after say 40 seconds and I have to use the hand controller to re slew back a bit to get it to track again. Sometimes it's hard work spending a few minutes trying to get the motors to move. Everything's nice and balanced well, level and polar aligned as when i manage to get 20-30 second subs with the DSLR I have nice round stars. But it's such a headache getting to that point. Then I get a couple of subs then the tracking loses itself. I have to re slew back again to get the RA tracking again.

If I'm reading this correctly, you're saying that the RA tracking is accurate, just not fast enough?