Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Telescope for 8 year old - help please I'm confused

I am a new member looking for some help in buying a telescope for my son for Christmas.  I have no real life experience just what I have read on the internet.  My son  is 8 years old and I looking forward to getting involved with him.  I am looking for a beginner scope for looking at the moon and planets.

My budget did start off at £50 but I have realised I might need to stretch this. I want to spend enough so that my son has an enjoyable first experience but not too much in case he doesn’t like it.

I think I am looking for a refractor (not quite sure why) and I have been looking at 70mm refractors but wonder if I would still get a decent image from a 60mm or 50mm.

I have been considering the following :-

• Bresser Skylux 35x-337x available from Lidl at £69.99.  This is a 70mm scope with a 900mm  focal length I think.   Bresser seem to be a decent make and the price is within the new budget.
  • Celestron Astromaster 70AZ (£75)
  • Bresser Junior Telescope 60/700AZ Refractor £81
  • To confuse issues I have just Groupon through for a Zennox Refractor Telescope 50*600mm  for £29.00 (reduced from £100 apparently)

I also realise I need to consider the tri-pod equatorial or alt azimuth.

The more I read the more confused I get so any help, comments or thoughts would be appreciated.

Are there any other models I should be considering?

In summary I want a telescope that will provide a good image of the moon and a some planets, easy for a child to use within a budget of £50-£100.

Many thanks.

The mount is the difficult part for a child to get to grips with

the Dobsonion mount is very easy to use, this one is perfect for

an 8 year old http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-heritage-76-mini-dobsonian.html

you will see planets easily with this, place it on a sturdy table

and away you go.

I forgot this one that makes 3 for my list.