Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Video astronomy Vs eyepiece

hoops86

Hey Guys,

How come video astronomy isn’t very popular? I only ask because im pretty new to all things astronomy (started in Feb).

I was very disappointed when I got my first GOTO to find that the cable would only control my scope and not show the images on screen (stupid I know). Made perfect sense why it wouldn’t show images on screen after I thought about it though :)

I only recently learned that no matter what eyepiece you have… DSO’s will always be black and white!

Until I got the Sammy up and running (like a week ago) I had been considering buying a premium eyepiece (£150+) but now im thinking…why even bother? I have loads of decent eyepieces now (BST’s, meade 4k’s, celestron x-cel lx’s) and im thinking spending more on something that will never get used as the views are just poor compared to the Sammy would be a waste! I don’t want to see black and white I want colour!!

I get that the camera will have a much smaller field of view than say a 25mm eyepiece…. But when a scb2000 costs £40 and say a 6mm televue whatever costs £200+…one is colour… one is black and white…I just don’t get it!

So im thinking….why waste money on an eyepiece when I could just buy a better camera!

Anyway I don’t know what point im trying to make here lol I just thought it was weird that people still buy eyepieces at like £700+ when all they are going to get is black and white views. And a video camera of the same cost would provide much much much better views….

/confused!

Cheers

Chris

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply