Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi everyone! Nick from Berkshire County, MA here

nmitsthefish

Heyyy,

My name is Nick and as the title states I currently live in the Berkshires in MA.

I'm totally new to astronomy and havent even looked through a telescope yet. I've been infatuated with the heavens for as long as I can remember and now I am 28 years old and ready to take a serious dive into the experience that is the universe. I've spent the past several weeks reading as much as I can and playing with Stellarium and finally ordered myself an Orion SkyQuest XT8 Dob and am currently patiently (or overly excitedly impatiently) waiting for its arrival. I realize most people suggest their first "scope" being a good set of binoculars but I tend to jump into things (with usually good success).

So, I have come to realize that I have no fellow amateur astronomer friends yet nor do I have an active local astronomy club so I'm a bit in the dark here hoping to spark up some new friendships by joining this forum!

-Nick

Hi, Nick, and welcome to SGL! That's a very nice scope you have ordered there - 8" is often described as the 'Goldilocks' of scopes as it is the ideal size to move around and will resolve some of the 'faint fuzzies' of deep sky objects. Along with 'Stellarium' I would also recommend you buy the book 'Turn Left at Orion' which will give specific guidance as to how to 'star hop' to help find objects in the night sky. A planisphere may also help you by showing where the constellations are. I'm sure you will get a lot of use and enjoyment out of your scope.

Martin