Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Portable first telescope

Hello, another newbie here with what i suspect a predictable question...

I was wondering what would be the best portable telescope. By portable i mean hand-portable or backpack-portable, rather than car-portable. Unless this would compromise quality too much, then i would have to reconsider i think?

My other considerations are i'm a beginner, have very little time (so the scope needs to be quick to set up i think), and i would probably want to use it for looking at deep sky objects. It would also be good to find a scope which is a keeper - in the sense that if i ever want to upgrade, I would still want to keep this one because of its portability and quality. The other important consideration is money, so I think the question is what would be the best telescope for the above requirements, and at the same time good value for money (considering those requirements).

Thanks so much in advance :smiley:

Without pretending to be an expert on all the types of scopes out there I think you'll struggle to find anything that meets the requirements of portability and longevity if your targets are DSO's as aperture is all important in the DSO hunting game and that generally equates to weight - and that's just the OTA without even considering a decent mount.....

However, I look forward to the views of those more informed than me

The closest I found was a William Optics Megrez 72 with a Giro mini mount head on a photo tripod, though it's not really a deep sky monster. There are some companies (litescope, Sumarian optics) that do compact dobsonians but they're not cheap and I'd guess that weight might be an issue.

I'm no veteran on the subject but here's what comes to mind: