Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Car Camping - an alternative to tents

onesmallstep

Hi

I've been attending Kelling Heath Sky Camp since 2006. As this is my only camping holiday per year I don't bother with a tent as I convert my car into a camper for the duration and I've improved on the conversion each year. I've also done this in several cars including a Ford Focus hatchback, Renault Laguna, Rover 25, and my current car - a Renault Megane Scenic. I arrange the car in the following way:

1. Recline the front passenger seat as far back as is comfortable. This is where I sleep.

2. Leave the rear passenger seat upright and keep sleeping bag / duvet on this seat so that it is within easy reach.

3. Footwear goes in the driving seat footwell

4. Arrange kit so that related items are kept in the same bag / case / rucksack. These are kept either on the rear seats if they are upright OR if they are folded down the kit will be kept in the space where the rear seats would have been. This will include clothing / hygiene items, snacks / drinks, extra clothing in case the nights are cold.

5. Astro kit is kept at the rear of the car and accessed via the rear hatch. This will include empty boxes, eyepiece case(s), accessory case(s) and general equipment.

This has worked successfully for me for the last several years and I was wondering if any other SGL members have tried or would consider trying this form of ad-hoc camping at star parties or overnight camping trips.

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've often thought about sleeping in the car, but first of all I need to be laying down to sleep and my car just isn't big enough really. Also they tell me it is much colder in a car than a tent.

You'd surely have to remove all the fuses to stop the lights coming on in the dark and upsetting the neighbours.

Carole

Have slept in a car once or twice, usually when on a long journey and needed a good break.