NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hi

Garfield

Hi,

My name is Dave and i'm new to this, i have had my telescope since this time last year but only done a few observation sessions over the winter from my back garden.

I have a Celestron 130eq but i am now looking at something larger and also looking into astrophotography so any advice on what i should get would be really helpful (I will do a some research on here and the web)

Best things i have seen so far are Jupiter and its moons, and the Ring nebula, i thought this was pretty impressive from a big city.

Welcome to SGL.

If you're thinking about astro-imaging I'm sure I won't be the only one to tell you that the place to start is with the book "Making Every Photon Count", available from FLO (see the link at the top of the page) amongst others. I'd add that you really need to think about how much you're willing to spend and what's really viable from your location. "Birmingham" covers a lot of sins and whilst some of it is probably not too bad I imagine there are also areas of hideously bad light pollution. If you have to travel to get to a decent imaging site then you may need to factor the necessary portability and requirements for power into your decisions.

James

HI and welcome to the Lounge Dave! It really is amazing what you can see from the city! Next time try hunting the globular M13 - should get that quite easily, and its fab! And for ultimate wow - have you managed to find Saturn yet?