Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Proffessional astronomers?

Azure

Hey all, this is just a general query directed towards people who have done, or still do, some form of astronomy that's career related. To anyone that has or still does, how did you get into professional astronomy, and what do you do in it? I ask because I am at that stage where I still have some time to decide which path I should take when it comes to careers, and am looking into taking astronomy beyond just a hobby and pursuing it further academically.

Any advice/accounts would be appreciated(:

- AZ

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am not a professional astronomer, but I have worked with professional astronomers. All of the professional astronomers with whom I have worked are/were professors of physics, but there may be other paths into professional astronomy.

For a year, I had an office across the hall from a professional astronomer with whom I was very friendly. His advice: "Get a B.Sc. in physics, and then do a Ph.D. in Astronomy/Astrophysics." He had professional observing sessions at telescopes in various parts of the world.

My experience is in North America and strictly within the academic world. Others here may have advice on other paths.