Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Saturn - what can you really expect?

As a newbie i'm enjoying ticking off what i've seen so far. Moon (obviously), Jupiter, Mars, Saturn. Venus; i just couldn't get my scope to point low enough... probably down to lack of experience.

Saturn, i was amazed to see it, but disappointed in comparison after seeing Jupiter. Although i could make out the planet it was very blurred. I have a SW 200p, using the standard 10mm, 25mm E/Psand 2x Barlow. I've recently purchased a new focuser (now standard on the same scope, i believe) and some Baader Hyperion E/Ps

When i get a chance, i look forward to using my new equipment, but should i expect to see much of a difference? Or do you need a serious set up to enjoy Saturn?

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You have a serious setup! :-)

I find Saturn is a less demanding target than Jupiter as its detail is high-contrast - ring shadows, cassini division... You just need good seeing and perfect focus. I'm sure a quality EP will help a lot in comparison to the standard SW 10mm.

You should be able to pick up a bit of banding on the planet surface and 5 or so moons.

Not had much luck with Saturn myself - generally get an elongated blur. I put that down to my lack of experience...I rarely have the patience (or cold endurance) to stay outside long enough for my 'scope to cool down enough (I don't have a private garden or enclosed backyard, so daren't leave the scope outside unattended!:)).

Maybe I could combine my eps and barlows better too - still learning.

Going to try again later tonight though... . Hope to actually resolve the rings with any luck :-).

Ever the optimist... .

Best I have seen Saturn was through what I suspect was a Tal refractor at 120x. 8mm eyepiece I think.

What was good was the contrast and detail visible and not the size.

Would suggest that you do not try for outright magnification, the whole lot will lose definition and reduce what you see.