Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie From Northampton (UK)

Sunny84

Hi all,

My name is Sunny, I've been interested in Astronomy for a few years now but haven't had a chance to see any planets or moons due to not owning a Telescope, only seen images on the internet and tv.

Over the last year I have been glued to the Discovery Channel and Eden channel to watch "How the universe works" and "Wonders of the solar system" i can't get enough of it :D

So now I think it is time to buy my 1st telescope, I am a newbie in regards to telescopes but I do not want to buy a entry level scope as I plan to keep it for a few years. I have come across this telescope "Sky-Watcher Deluxe 90mm" would this telescope be fine for viewing Earths Moon, Jupiter + 4 Moons, Mars in reasonable detail?

Link:

Sky Watcher Sky-Watcher Deluxe 90mm starter kit with FREE Astro Box!

Any help or guidance would be appreciated

Thanks

Sunny :)

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Sunny and welcome to the forum.

I would certainly echo Damian's words above in making contact with an astronomy club or observing group to get your eye in on some scopes first before purchasing anything. The reason is so as to help construct your own benchmark of what type and size of scope will best meet your own expectations. In a way, television programmes are both a blessing and a curse in this regard as they help create enthusiasm but often mislead in what can actually be achieved, particularly with visual astronomy. You won't see much colour if at all and resolution of detail is both scope and weather dependent which can produce a great deal of frustration in amongst all that enthusiasm. I'm trying to be honest from the start in order to help manage your aspirations and guide you in the right direction.