Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi and help!

Haggismoon

Hi All,

Complete newbie here. I've just got my wife a SW Explorer 130P AZ GOTO, after lots of research. We've set it up a couple of times and had a good look at Saturn, which is nice! However, we tried to look at a couple of nebulae/galaxies (Owl, Whirlpool, etc.) which I understand we should have been able to see quite well - but we could see nothing although the GOTO found them. I think this is probably a focussing thing although it may be light pollution - we live near a busy main road with sodium lights. I think not being able to get our eyes light-adjusted is not helping.

Which of these is likely to be the main problem here? I thought I caught a brief glimpse of the Owl nebula as I tried focussing but then lost it completely. Should we persevere in the garden or does it seem like we will have to find somewhere darker so our eyes can light-adjust?

Also, I bought the scope for my wife but I am now very keen myself. I was thinking of getting a bigger reflector on an EQ mount as I would like to find things to look at myself but I am now considering a relatively small (8") Dob. I've been itching to just get out at night and have a quick look about. I really don't have the cash to spend but with a bit of overtime at work I could probably get the £300 necessary.

So, would anyone recommend getting the basic 200mm SW Dob? Is the focusser upgradeable to a better dual speed replacement? Should I hang on and get a bigger flextube Dob next year?

I know this is a bit long and rambling but I would appreciate your thoughts.

Haggismoon

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi there Haggismoon, welcome to SGL :(

If you guys can't even dark adapted, then I'd say look to the light pollution as the main culprit. Anywhere that is even a little bit darker will give you a better chance.