SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Saturn......WOW!!

MrsGilps

Hi all,

We finally saw Saturn for the first time last night :rolleyes: Amazing! We have been waiting for a clear night to see it for ages and were blown away, well worth the wait. Managed to see the ISS too for the first time so that was pretty cool. All in all we are happy bunnies today! :eek:

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Nice one!

I'm going to have a look later, if clear. Also to see if I can spot any moons of Saturn... Evil glint there on my part. Titan may show (to me) as a star...

Makes a change staying up late rather than getting up stupidly early. Looking at Stellarium, it should pass through my ESE tree window and over a house at about midnight.

The good thing about observing stupidly early in a very cold winter was that everything had cooled down. Houses included.

I'll see. Or not!

I'm hoping to get out to see Saturn tonight. So far it's clear skies...:) I am a newbie though so the odds of me seeing anything like I hope I will are rather slim. I thought I was looking at Jupiter a few weeks back but now I'm not convinced I was because it just looked like a white star. Fingers crossed with tonight then and hopefully I too can say "Saturn......WOW!!"

cassini division seen in my 80ed tonight,it was a lovely sight:) saturn dont ya luv it;)

It's great that everyone is seeing Saturn - it's looking lovely this year :)

On the Cassini Division, I've seen this in previous years, when the rings have been well presented (ie: wide open rather than edge on or semi-closed) but, having observed Saturn this year with scopes ranging from 4" to 10" I've yet to spot it this year, as yet.

When I have seen it, it's appearance has been quite tiny, as line separating the A and B ring systems, as explained on this webpage (images much magnified):

Weasner's Meade ETX Site

I'm posting this as it seemed to me to be a useful guide to the various features of Saturn.