SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Turn left at orion?

All

I am looking for a good guide book to accompany me taking the next step in astronomy. I have a planisphere, and have been looking at stellarium, but what I could do with now is a good book.

I have done a bit of digging and it looks like 'Turn Left at Orion' is recommended.

Anyone else got any suggestions?

Regards

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've just bought Turn Left at Orion and it arrived today from Amazon. For a complete newb like me who is just starting out it is brilliant. Using it tonight I've managed to observe the great orion nebula with bins, didn't even need to drag the scope outside. Well worth the purchase.

Does anybody know if a newer version of Turn Left at Orion is comming out in Feb? notice the Amazon version is 2000 and the tables are up to 2011 so I'm holding off purchasing incase a newer version is released

Just a heads up - make sure you buy a new one and not second hand. The charts were updated in 2010 to go up to 2020. Second hand ones may be the older version that run out this year.

/edit - missed the question above. I bought mine from Amazon and it was the new version.

Just ordered mine from Amazon today along with my planisphere (been waiting for them to come back in stock!).

Hoping it will help me start to find things on purpose rather than my current stumble-around-the-sky-and-chance-upon-something approach! :)

Just a small footnote:

Rang the publishers 5 minutes ago and they confirmed that that 4th Edition which is not a reprint but an actual rewriting of this great book (will include a section on Dobsonians and also referencing to objects for larger scopes) is NOT out yet and it would appear it is still at the final draft stage. Publishers said they couldn't give me an actual date but anticipate late spring at the earliest and could be in paperback form.