Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Yes yet another noob!

Mark-mck

Hi all.

as you may of guessed i'm a total noob at this astronomy lark. i'm currently looking to invest in a half decent scope for a mixture of planatery/DSO viewing and possibly imaging/photography if i get into it enough.

so that said any suggestions on what a decent scope for the above requirements would be please feel free to let me know.

Mark:o

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Mark and welcome.

I asked the same questions on here also. It all depends on your budget really. I ended up buying a Celestron 130 eq which I'm really happy with. However some folks like to go a bit bigger to an 8" newt from what I can gather.

Thanks for the welcome Ewok.

Well budget....... to be honest i'm not really sure yet, I dont want to get into the whole "cheap and cheerful" to begin with and then end up forking out a load more cash in 12 months time on better kit. so i'd say i'd be willing to spend around £1200 - £1500 on the whole lot (scope, mount, camera and any other bits and bobs that i'll be needing). is that a realistic budget?

It certainly sounds like a nice chunk of cash. If I were you though I would take it one step at a time and concentrate on getting a good scope first. Astrophotography is mind boggling to me but I know it's a very complex and expensive passion.

As for your scope, its down to personal preference. like I say I've opted for a 5" Newt, however you may want something a little larger if you feel that you may quickly out grow this size , maybe a Skywatcher 200 or something ?

Hi Mark and welcome to the forum.