NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Newbie from Essex -NOT a stargazing live convertee!

Simms

Hi all, very new to astronomy, after much research in Nov/Dec last year I decided to get myself a pair of Celestron 15x70 binos and was amazed when I first viewed the Christmas day nightsky with them - I was looking forward to viewing the Orion nebula (great!!) but was more taken with the Pleiades - they literally took my breath away. Anyway, my biggest problem is I am a professional photographer and cannot view something beautiful without wanting to take a photo of it - so I am looking at buying a scope and learning astrophotography. Obviously there is a lot to learn (and money to spend) but hopefully I am in this for the long haul!

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Simms and welcome to the forum.

Astrophotography is proving to be very popular and there are many ways to obtain the images. Can I make a suggestion to you and that is to get a hold of "Making Every Photon Count" by the forum's own Steve Richards (FLO £19.95) which outlines all you need to know to get started and what you will need in order to get the type of images you want. It is a very well written book, concise and thorough in its account of the requirements. To be honest, good imaging doesn't come cheap and the learning curve can be steep so having an overview such as this at the beginning may also save you some money as well.

Clear skies

James

Hi Simms and welcome to the forum.