Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

M42 - What a difference Darks and Flats Make

johnb

Taken with Skywatcher Explorer 250 and Cannon 450D (unmodded)

50 x 60 Secs Unguided, 20 Darks, 20 Flats

Im really happy with this image (seem to have finally cracked it), couple of questions

1 - My 450D is unmodded is that why it seems a little bue ?

2 - Am i going to see a difference if I get another 50 Mins and add to it ?

3 - Im still quite new to Levels and Curves so guess there may be plenty more data in this image - if anyone feels like seeing if thats the case that would be great.

Regards

John B

post-17074-133877506248_thumb.jpg

err wow - what did you do

John B

Something I personally don't like.

First, it makes everything quite artificially red, but losing information --you're losing the nice contrast in hue between the main OIII foreground wings and the H-alpha inside--, and secondly, the blacks are clipped and a lot of very fine detail at the edge is lost (of course, it's that detail that is noisy, but hiding it is something I don't like).

I like the original better, frankly. A lot. In fact, if you'd posted the second image, many people would have asked for your raw and produced the first one :). If you want more colour, simply try increasing the saturation or playing just a wee bit with gamma.

but it's very personal, of course. Some people like overprocessed and in-your-face contrasty images, I don't, and I find the harsh almost painted stars on the suppressed blacks really grating. Grey is good. If you have pixels that are "0"-valued, then you've gone too far, because the sky background actually isn't black.

What extra subs will give you, by the way, is even less noise in the very faint and whispy detail on the left and round M43. So you'll have less inclination to sweep it all under the carpet.

All feedback apprecaited, any comments on my questions ?