NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Comparing Baader Hyperions to the Vixen LVWs

John

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Many thanks for this write up and your comments proved very interesting reading. As a beginner, I have discovered that choosing eyepieces appear to be as much a subjective decision as it is a technical one. I also liked the fact that you qualified which type of equipment would benefit most from each make of eyepiece. As a beginner, this type of information is really important in helping me to formulate an opinion as to what eyepieces would best suite my equipment.

Again many thanks for your kind efforts.

James

Hi John, I've just read your review with great interest, as I own the 22mm,13mm

& 8mm LVWs. I purchased them in 2005 when they were much cheaper.

My 3 LVWs make a good team with my 27mm Panoptic, almost the same weight,

apparent field and eye relief. The 22 is a bit close to the 27 for me, so with my

10" Dob, I tend to use 27, 13 & 8. They are all I need for deep sky with that

scope, ( I use others for planets/double stars )

I also use them with my 6" F4, they are very well corrected with that, so

TV are not the only EPs to work well at that focal ratio ! I've also a couple of

Radians, 18 & 10mm, they nice too, but at F4 I notice some field darkening at

the edges, and the 60 deg field seems much more different to 65 deg than the

numbers would suggest.

I love the nice eye relief, easy eye positioning & no blackout issues that the LVWs

give. But I suppose in the world of the 100 deg EP, they may seem "old hat" to some.

Nice review John, thanks, Ed.

Nice review. I had two of the old LVs, never had the cash in those days for the LVWs, though I was sorely tempted. Given the prices I see, the race at the higher end seems to be more between the Panoptics, Meade SWA, and Vixen LVW, than with the Hyperions, but these latter do seem a good choice for those of us with slow scopes (or tighter budgets).