Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi from Stirling

SirFoo

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to this astronomy business but I am really enjoying it! So far I've mostly been viewing by the naked eye and I'm amazed at at all the things up there that I haven't really looked at before. My head had been firmly at ground level for over 30 years. Armed with my mobile phone and google skymap (which is amazing) I have been managing to track all the main constellations. I've also managed to borrow my father in law's telescope and have been able to view Mars and Saturn. Saturn in particular was inspirational. I was wondering about the telescope though. I'm not sure if it's any good or if it may be better to purchase soemthing else. I have listed below the main specs of the scope. I have read recently that the smallest mirror for general use is 150mm and noticed that mine was 114mm. Should I keep going with the one that I've got? I have to say that Tasco is not a make that seems to be mentioned in this forum!

Thanks and looking forward to writing many more posts.

DD

Tasco

114mm mirror(4.5")

900mm focal length

H20mm (Low Power)

H12.5mm (Medium Power)

SR4mm (High Power)

675Xmagnification

Moonfilter

Hi DD,

Size isnt everything! Mines a 3.5" reflector and I love it! Astronomy really is a case of its not what you've got but what you do with it! My dad lives up by Port Mentith, the skies are great! So you picked a good place to start!

Zane

Thanks for the advice Zane. Might just stick with the Tasco. I'm on the outskirts of Stirling so there is a bit of light pollution compared to Menteith but I'm not complaining! Although the last few days weather has been horrible. I'm hopeful that I can see Mercury and Venus soon. Cheers!

DD

Hi Foo and welcome to the group.