Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hey Everyone!

snapper

Hi Everyone,

Real basics newbie here!

I used to be really into astronomy when I was younger but for whatever reason never kept with it! However this Christmas hubby got me a 'proper big' (to me!) telescope, having only ever previously had one of those very cheap small red ones!, have really started to get back into it. He has been great on setting the scope up as the more I read the instructions the more it confused me! But slowly getting there and cant wait until I can set it up and find stuff on my own.

Trying to learn all the stars, constellations etc again as could only remember orion, plough and ursa minor!

Since Christmas have learned a few more! :) and have been looking at a few things, including using the scope tonight seeing Jupiter for the first time ever!!! Ok, it might not be a big thing for other people on here but for me it was massive and cool and fantastic and has given me a massive bite back into astronomy again! I even saw some smaller 'dots' around Jupiter which I can only assume was some moons?! And a great view of M42 as well.

Looking forward to warmer weather coming so can stay out a bit longer before feeling like an ice cube :eek:

Lots of questions may be coming your way so be warned! hehe

Charlene

Welcome Charlene. Seeing Jupiter through a scope is always a great, whatever your experience, and you certainly spotted the moons (Galileo only had a scope of about 30 mm). Whenever I go out at night with the scope, I visit a series of "golden oldies" (M42 is always on the list) before attempting anything new. In spring, when the weather is warmer, have a go at the Coma and Virgo cluster of galaxies. I often just sweep through the region, not bothering to identify Messier or NGC numbers, and enjoy the sights.

Thanks Everyone!

Hubby got me a SkyWatcher Explorer 150p (hey, look at me knowing my scope!!! :) )