Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Geminid Meteor Shower - Thoughts

Hi

This is my first year as an astronomer, the last Shower back in November was a no show due to cloud, I believe the Geminid Meteor Shower Peaks next Monday Night ?, so im interested in the best direction and time to view ?

Regards

John B

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi , They are active at various levels over several days. If your dressed for it ( warm multi layers, balaclava + sleeping bag ) and on a cumfy sunlounger get out and do it .Red light , pencil and notepad . Rates are higher as maximum approaches . The rate of non shower (sporadic) meteors rises as you approach dawn boosting levels . This shower's radiant is high in altitude for most of the night which helps. To get an idea of potential activity use this NASA tool Home page of the Meteor Shower Flux Estimator (FLUXTIMATOR). and key in the data for your location and the dates/ showers you are interested in. Hope you have clear skies :icon_eek:

Len E

at this time of the year I tend to do 'shifts' when I am meteor watching... half an hour at a time, pop in for 10 minutes to warm up. It's not ideal for dark adaptation, and you might miss one in that ten minutes, but I get grumpy when I am cold so it works for me :icon_eek: I think this year's geminids is going to be particularly hopeful because the Moon is right out of the way - really hope you all get some clear skies :hello2:

at this time of the year I tend to do 'shifts' when I am meteor watching... half an hour at a time, pop in for 10 minutes to warm up. It's not ideal for dark adaptation, and you might miss one in that ten minutes, but I get grumpy when I am cold so it works for me :icon_eek: I think this year's geminids is going to be particularly hopeful because the Moon is right out of the way - really hope you all get some clear skies :hello2:

Lol Amanda you get grumpy I would not have expected that.