Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Greetings from Hertfordshire!

arctica

Hi all

Just a quick note to say hello to everyone from Hertfordshire! Not new to the subject of astronomy, having studied it in quite some detail over the years, mainly from the perspective of comparative planetology. By training I am a geologist, so studying the Moon, Mars (actually worked on the gravity data for Mars a while back), and satellites of the outer Solar System was not unusual.

Generally using binoculars for wide-field scanning of the sky; gradually getting my wife into the subject :) Looking to move up to a telescope at some point.

Cheers

Lester

Welcome to SGL Lester! :) When I was younger I always wanted to be a geologist, somehow I have ended up studying for a degree in literature, lol!

Even though I now own a telescope, I always get my binos out for observing, I love scanning the milky way and they are great for clusters :headbang: Be sure to ask any questions about purchasing a telescope, if you need some advice :)

Enjoy!

Hi all

Just a quick note to say hello to everyone from Hertfordshire! Not new to the subject of astronomy, having studied it in quite some detail over the years, mainly from the perspective of comparative planetology. By training I am a geologist, so studying the Moon, Mars (actually worked on the gravity data for Mars a while back), and satellites of the outer Solar System was not unusual.

Generally using binoculars for wide-field scanning of the sky; gradually getting my wife into the subject :) Looking to move up to a telescope at some point.

Cheers

Lester

hi Lester just said hello my self yesterday,welcome

Thanks for the lovely welcome everyone :headbang:

Will definitely be asking for advice Amanda once we get around to going for a telescope. Still thinking about which road to go down (so to speak); Newtonian reflector or "traditional" refractor.