SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Recommended solar eye pieces

Hello

I'm not really a visual astronomer. But iv recently taken hold of a Lunt LS50THa so would like do some visual with this scope. Can anyone recommend decent eyepieces. Iv got basic plossol ones. 

Thanks. 

I have no experience with Lunt scopes, I have a Daystar Solarscout. By far my favourite eyepiece in this is the Baader 32mm plossl, but I also liked the Vixen 30mm NPL - it just has more reflections than the Baader. I've also used a Televue 25mm plossl (didn't get on with it), Meade 26mm Series 4k plossl ( not that great but useable), Baader 18mm BCO  (good in good seeing), and an ES 16mm 68° (good in good seeing).

Hope that helps 

• Thanks 1

Any decent Plossls or orthos are ideal. Lots of people also use zooms with the LS50, with a useful range to move between low power (30x) up to 70x when seeing allows. A 7-21mm or 8-24mm would be ideal. Best zoom is Pentax XF 6.5-19.5, but otherwise I’m sure one of the cheaper SVBony zooms would be great.
The big difference between dedicated solar scopes and the Daystar mentioned above is of course that Solar Scouts/Quarks come with a 4.2x barlow built in, so you need less powerful eyepieces with those. 

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

Lunt's own zoom EP is very good.  I wouldn't normally recommend a zoom EP but with solar observing the seeing plays a dramatic role.  Having a zoom option helps you find the sweet spot on any given day.  I used one with my Lunt 50.  I also have to hand either my 14mm or 20mm ES 68' EPs.  They are excellent for the price.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I use an 11 & 20mm Televue plossl for Ha, work really well for solar. Can pick them up relatively cheaply on the used market. Have an older Celestron 12.5mm Ultima that works really nicely too. Been meaning to try the new Tak TPL line but they’re quite expensive in comparison.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1