NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Almost bought ES ED 102 APO but GSO 8" RC?

Hello! Joined the forum only a day ago!

I am a beginner at using scopes. I grew up in times where my skies were so clear that I still remember feeling "hey dad! Look at that!  A bunch of stars not just one!" (which I now think to have been M13). The same skies have gone to be very polluted and now I only get to see constellations like bootes and Ursa Major. I still love observing these and following their paths over months.

Some years ago, I had the chance to look at moon, Saturn and other planetary objects through an 8 inch dob that a friend's friend had got. I was so amazed looking at Saturn, I spent the whole night there. Since then, I have not had any scope. I have had binoculars, but I use them while trekking. They're cheap, I would not buy them again. In last couple of years, I started capturing insects with my phone's camera (these phones can do amazing things!) and some Moon. Two months ago I was reading "Anathem" by Stephenson and that got me to think "man, I gotta stop looking at these stars with naked eyes and get me some scope!". This seems possible because my finances have improved, and I think I can fit the hobby nicely with my interests in trekking, spending solitary hours at night by myself and fiddling the crap out of computers (I am a writer of scripts! lisp anyone?).